In my defence

A summer of recruitment has led to an almost entirely new back line. Investing in a string of GK’s, including Coddington, Coleman and now Welsh Internation Danny Ward on loan, left back Chris Lowe, Centre back Michael Hefele, Centre back Jon Stankovic, and record signing Christopher Schindler who is also a Centre back.

Although still unproven in a Huddersfield town shirt I am excited by the signing of these players. I trust David Wagner, and believe that these players can become a success.

With so many new faces amongst our defensive ranks I thought I would look back through the archives at some defenders of seasons past. My selection is not necessarily who I consider to the best, or worst – each player has their own reason for being selected.

GK – Paul “Rabs” Rachubka, 2004-2007. I always felt that little bit safer when “Rabs” was in goal. I’m not entirely sure why. He never gave me the impression he had a goalkeeping blunder in his locker. Whereas some Keepers (who will remain unnamed) terrified me, I’d watch on thinking their next mistake was lurking in the shadows, ready to jump out at any given moment. “Get your gloves on “Rabs” you’re in.”

RB – Malvin Kamara, 2007-2009. It was Malvin’s heroics in the FA Cup First round tie away at Accrington Stanley that has earned his selection. His two goals led the terriers to a 3-2 victory, starting a glorious cup run that ended in a 3-1 defeat at Stamford Bridge. Had it not been for his goals I may never have had the chance to go to the Bridge. Plus, I once saw him in Leeds Train Station and he was kind enough to have a photo with, sadly this photo no longer exists. “I want you up and down Kammy.”

CB – Frank Sinclair, 2007-2008. A Jamaican International with 28 caps, a premier league veteran with over 150 for Chelsea. Signed in 2007 at the ripe age of 36, he is just what we need a bit of experience and know-how. But what did we get? Possible the most unpredictable player going. But this is what endeared me to him and why he is in my back four. He could bring the ball down out of the sky with such elegance and style, or completely miss the ball all together and fall over. His time in blue and white certainly kept me on the edge of my seat. “Teach these boys a thing or two Frank.”

CB – Efetobore “Efe” Sodje, 2003-2005. Captain during 2003/04 season he led Town to promotion from Division 3 via the play-offs, earning him a place in the PFA Players’ team of the season. But you’d be mistaken to think this is why I selected him. It is his pure marketability, with his trademark “against all odds” bandana and ludicrous on field antics, Efe Sodje is an obvious choice. A defender who loved a rash tackle, and normally the red that followed. He stood for no nonsense. He once “removed” a fan that had run onto the pitch after their team had scored. It is also rumoured that he was warned that the club would have to sell him if he received another red card, next game….RED. “Lead them out skipper.”

LB – Danny Adams, 2005-2007. Simply put Adams is my left back because of this chant, (sung to the tune of The Automatic’s, Monster) – “What’s that coming over the hill? it’s Danny Adams, Danny Adams.” An Uncle Fester look-a-likey, he terrorised opponents. Not only that but when Peter Jackson told Adams that he was for sale and requested he keep quiet about this, Adams took to BBC Radio Leeds later that night. “I want a lot of talking from you Danny.

Because as they say, if you don’t concede you don’t lose.

Ooh to be a…

Leave a Reply

