Pre-Match Predictions – Wolves

The August bank holiday may signal the end of the summer but don’t worry the football is coming thick and fast. We’re already 4 weeks into the Championship season and haven’t they just flown by.

Like most football writers I’ve polished my crystal ball and I am GOING to predict the outcome of this weekend’s home clash against Wolves.

Firstly, I think we may see some new faces, unfortunately for the Town faithful they will not be wearing blue and white. Wolves have gone toe to toe with town in new signings, and I predict we will see some debutants in Saturday’s starting XI. I also think we will see a familiar face. Conor Coady has been an ever presence since leaving Huddersfield. Like most fans, I have fond memories of Coady, nevertheless with Mooy as his opposite number, I think he will be in for a tough afternoon.

A first clean sheet for the terriers. A bold prediction I know. Town have conceded in every competitive fixture so far this season, but as they ‘fifth times the charm’.  I expect David Wagner will pick the same back four and with a full week on the training ground, I am confident a shut out is achievable.

More minutes for KP. Palmer has been with the squad for 6 weeks and should be at the required fitness levels demanded of by head coach David Wagner. If he doesn’t start, I would imagine seeing him given 20-30 mins at the very least. Chelsea fans should be encouraged at how quickly and naturally he has taken to First Team football. Palmer is an exciting player that has the quality to both create and score, here’s hoping he can put those skills to good use this weekend.

One team will lose their unbeaten record, I’ll give you one guess who? Sorry Wolves, but I do believe you’ll be heading down the M6 empty handed. It will be a tough game; I have no doubt in that, but home advantage and top spot at stake means I can only see this going one way.

Rajiv Van La Parra will have the last laugh. VLP has looked every part the exciting winger we were promised. He is clearly a confidence player and with some of his recent performances we should see the best of him on Saturday. I just hope he doesn’t get into a competition with the Wolves fans; he’s a young man who might struggle to control his temperament.

Ian Holloway and Chris Iwelumo to look more foolish. So far this season Town have served them slice after slice of humble pie, well sit yourselves down gentlemen, another slice? You’ve got it.

Ooh to be a…

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

